Food Advocacy

The Beth Sholom Social Action Committee and neighboring synagogues have joined forces with MAZON - A Jewish Response to Hunger. MAZON's advocacy works to ensure that hungry people have access to nutritious food today and demands that government policies assure no one goes hungry tomorrow. Along with other advocacy groups and Montgomery County's CADCOM (Montgomery County Community Action Commission), and guided by MAZON, the Beth Sholom Social Action Committee works with our legislators to advocate for those who are in need of nutritious food.

Please help those with food insecurity. Copy and paste the following letter in the body of an email message, then email it to the links below for PA legislators.

Increase State Food Program Funds

I am a food security advocate with “Act Against Hunger,” a coordinated effort of the Jewish Community in Eastern Montgomery County and Mazon. I am concerned about the growing hunger statistics in our state and the critical need for adequate funding of the State Food Purchase Program (SFPP).  Funding for the SFPP has not kept up with the great increase in demand. The result is less food for more people.
 
We urge you to allocate the requested $21 million for SFP, a budget line item that is essential for the health and well being of Pennsylvania’s most vulnerable citizens. Our seniors, children and families are counting on you!

We need you to be our CHAMPION!
Support $21 million in funding for SFPP in the 2014-15 PA Budget.

Sincerely,

Name:                                                                                Zip code:

 

Email links to PA Legislators:

Stewart Greenleaf   sgreenleaf@pasen.gov

Madeleine Dean   mdean@pahouse.net

Brendan Boyle    bboyle@pahouse.net

Jake Corman    jcorman@pasen.gov

Robert Tomlinson   rtomlinson@pasen.gov

Mike Brubaker   mbrubaker@pasen.gov

John C. Rafferty   jrafferty@pasen.gov

William F. Adolph, Jr.   wadolph@pahousegop.com

John P. Sabatina   jsabatin@pahouse.net

Duane Milne   dmilne@pahousegop.com

 

Click on the links above to email the representatives. If this does not work, copy and paste the email addresses when you compose your message.

Fri, November 24 2017 6 Kislev 5778